Uncategorized

Psalm 119 Aleph א Spiritual Roadkill

I know it is a bizarre title so let me explain what it is. Two incidents happened yesterday.

I saw a possum on the sidewalk at night. I am not sure if my crutches scared the possum, it looked so terrifying and was running fast towards the road, I was screaming  and hopefully stopping it from running, because I saw a car was coming  to the same direction, and I soon heard the sound “pop”, and the possum was hit by the car and it was motionless and bleeding terribly. I didn’t know what to do, and I felt bad that the possum lying in the middle of the road,  The car was gone and I was left speechless and I might be the only one that witnessed the roadkill.

Next,  I imagined that it would be dreadful when more cars hitting and crushing its tiny carrion. But I’ve never touched a dead animal nor had any tools like shovel or gloves to drag or pick it up,  so I screamed out loud ” I can’t do this.” hoping someone could help me. But there was no one on the street. Then two cars were stopped on the same road , probably they saw me I was terrifying at the scene. Then I walked toward the driver, and she said to me,  “it looks dead, and someone will dispose it.” She continued to go ahead so I knew I didn’t have many options. so I walked away and prayed. Hopefully someone would soon take care of the matter.

At the same night, I had a dream that I was visiting a new church and meeting a blonde short hair lady called “Prophet Kate”. When it was my turn to see her, she asked me “How I can pray for you?” I told her that i am trying to expand my business and pray the lord will provide. Then she answered”

“Correct Alphabets?”

“Alphabets? like a, b, c , d?  I asked her and was perplexed. The session with her was soon over and then I woke up from the dreams, I prayed and I found out Psalm 119.

The chapter has 22 stanzas which start with a Hebrew Alphabet.  To be frank, I still don’t know what the “correct alphabets” means, I trust the lord will tell me one day. It may be something revealing or a simple guidance.

I always want to dig deep in his word, so it is a good opportunity for me to learn the bible and the language of Hebrew . I am ready to embark the journey of the Psalm 119 venture.  I want my next blog posts based on the Psalm 119 and its revelations,  hopefully I can develop a habit to study Psalm when learning a new hebrew alphabet/word everyday day.

When I read the first 8 verses, it somehow linked the roadkill incident:

א Aleph

119 Blessed are the undefiled in the way,
Who walk in the law of the Lord!
Blessed are those who keep His testimonies,
Who seek Him with the whole heart!
They also do no iniquity;
They walk in His ways.
You have commanded us
To keep Your precepts diligently.
Oh, that my ways were directed
To keep Your statutes!
Then I would not be ashamed,
When I look into all Your commandments.
I will praise You with uprightness of heart,
When I learn Your righteous judgments.
I will keep Your statutes;
Oh, do not forsake me utterly!

I had the revelation after reading the above verses:  

The possum is like unbelievers or believers that drifting away from the the lord. They don’t want to walk in the law of lord, they stop seeking Him, and walking in their own ways.

If the possum would stay on the sidewalk,  the car wouldn’t had hit it. It is a simple fact that it can apply to human being as well. The word “transgression” means that beyond the boundary.

We have no problem to respect the physical boundary, but when it comes to “spiritual boundary”, a lot of people will get offended  “why? I don’t want to be kept in a box.”  “I don’t want rules, I want MY way.” The rebellion “Me” self  manifest and demand the so call “freedom” to walk in their ways. It is like a metaphor that a loving parent trying to stop the kids crossing the roads aimlessly, but a rebellious kid insists running toward the dangerous road when many cars are out there.

How to stay in His way from the danger path, the Psalm says:

  1. Walking in the law of God
  2. Seeking Him with the whole heart.
  3. Doing no iniquity
  4. Keeping His percepts, status and commandments diligently.

Law is essential as it can help us discern what is acceptable and unacceptable , namely it teaches us discern what is good and evil, sinful or what not.

There are so many people to justify it is okay to have extramarital affairs, they are blinded to the morality, because of our own self seeking desire.

“I  fell in love with someone else and I want to follow my heart”.

The law clearly says that “Do not commit adultery.”  The adultery affairs will definitely cause consequences like heart breaking, distrust and even break down of marriages. Worse still, it may affect in a generational way.  It is so common to hear  people saying that “I don’t believe in marriage.” People are jaded because of our desires that leads to transgressions.

Is the law a restriction?  Is it a bad thing that God protects us from possible harm, negative consequence like death?

The wage of sin is death. I pictured the moment when the weighty car hitting the fragile possum, it is like a tremendous weight of sin crushing upon us that leads to death.

Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death. James 1:15

The mind governed by the flesh is death, Romans 8:6

For if you live according to the flesh, you will die. Romans 8:13

Ephesians chapter 2 summed up how we all were once dead in sins because of 1) the course of the world,  2) the prince of power of the air (the Devil) 3) the lusts of our flesh

And you He made alive, who were dead in trespasses and sins,in which you once walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit who now works in the sons of disobedience,  among whom also we all once conducted ourselves in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, just as the others. Ephesians  2:1-3

When I saw the dead possum on the road, I saw the possum as myself. I was once dead in my own trespasses. I was feeble and hopelessness, lying on the road, just dead.  At the moment I am typing now, I saw Jesus picking up the dead possum and He “breathed” , and gave the possum a new spirit and it was alive again.

Christ has the resurrection power, and everyone who is born of the spirit, is alive again. For it is written:

 But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in trespasses, made us alive together with Christ (by grace you have been saved),  and raised us up together, and made us sit together in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,  that in the ages to come He might show the exceeding riches of His grace in His kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. Ephesians 2:4-7

Because of His grace, even we just like an unworthy and dumb possum, He lowers himself, picks us up and gives us a new life, Then He raises us up together and makes us sit together with Him in the heavenly places.

This is the gospel, sin no more, accept Jesus by faith and follow Him.

If we are wayward, drifting away from his ways, let’s repent and make a U turn. The lord is merciful and He will never forsakes us. For those who are walking in His way, ask God to mold our heart to be more upright and learn His righteous judgement, the journey with the lord may not be easy, but it is absolutely worthwhile.

andrewchaigodsway.jpg

Leave a comment